Links to Socially Responsible Jobs, Internships, and Volunteer Opportunities

Environmental, Sustainability, “Green” Opportunities

American Forest.org: employment listings within the Forestry Industry:  http://www.americanforests.org/who-we-are-about-us/jobs/

Association for the Advancement of Sustainability: works primarily with higher education to support sustainable campuses and curriculum:http://www.aashe.org/connect/enewsletters/bulletin

Association of Energy Engineers: engineering positions within the energy fields:  http//www.energyvortex.com/careercenter/

Be A Localist (BALLE): supports locally owned businesses: http://bealocalist.org/careers

BiologyJobs.com:   http//www.biologyjobs.com

Care2: employment listings for a variety of eco jobs: http://jobs.care2.com/a/all-jobs/list/q-Ecology

Clean Techies: Provides job listings within the clean tech industry:  http://cleantechjobs.cleantechies.com/a/jobs/find-jobs/q-sustainability

Colorado State University Resource Page: http://warnercnr.colostate.edu/jobs-and-internships

Community College Sustainability Collaborative:  http://ccsustain.wordpress.com/

Conservation International:  http://tbe.taleo.net/CH08/ats/careers/jobSearch.jsp?org=CONSERVATION&cws=1

Coolworks.com:  Links to primarily summer jobs:  http://www.coolworks.com/

Cyber-Sierra’s Natural Resources job search engine: http://www.cyber-sierra.com/nrjobs/index.html

Day Away Careers: http://dayawaycareers.com/

DevNet.org: employment with the field international development: http://www.devnetjobs.org/

Earthworks: job boards http://www.earthworks-jobs.com/

Eco Canada:  environmental job board for Canada: http://www.eco.ca/

Eco Employ: job boardshttp://www.ecoemploy.com/jobs/

Eco Club Eco-tourism:  employment associated with the eco tourism industy:  http://ecoclub.com/jobs

EHS Careers: environmental and safety career site:  http://www.ehscareers.com/

Ends Job Search: environmental employment primarily in the UK: http://www.endsjobsearch.co.uk/

Environmental Career.com: employment listings http://jobs.environmentalcareer.com/jobs/

Environmental Career Opportunities: job search list:  http://www.ecojobs.com/

Environmental Expert.com: a world wide list of environmental, engineering and sustainablity employment: http://www.environmental-expert.com/jobs

Environmental Protection Agency: US government Environmental Agency: http://www.epa.gov/careers/

Environmental Career.com: job board: http://www.environmentalcareer.com/

Environmental Jobs.com: job board: http://www.environmentaljobs.com/

Forestry Service: US governmental agency, employment site: http://www.fs.fed.us/fsjobs/ 

Good Work.ca: Canadian specific environmental job site: http://goodwork.ca/

Green Biz: Environmental job board: http://jobs.greenbiz.com/

Green Career Central: supports for securing environmental employment: http://www.greencareercentral.com/public/main.cfm

Green Dream Jobs: job board: http://www.sustainablebusiness.com/index.cfm/go/greendreamjobs.main/?CFID=24715570&CFTOKEN=80786811

Green Energy Jobs: a site specifically for employment in the Green Energy sector http://www.greenenergyjobs.com/

Green Jobs: Employment board focused on the renewable energy sector: http://www.greenjobs.com/ 

Green Job Board: various green employment listings: http://www.greenjobsearch.org/

Greenpeace:  environmental advocacy: http://www.greenpeace.org/usa/en/about/jobs 

Idealist.org: employment listing including social and environmental jobs: http://www.idealist.org/

Indeed: Job posting  site, sustainability link posted herehttp://www.indeed.com/q-Sustainability-jobs.html

Land Trust Alliance: employment board specifically focused on  conservation and land trust: http://www.landtrustalliance.org/about/jobs

National Audubon Society:  employment board in conservation, environment:  
https://careers-audubon.icims.com/jobs/intro?hashed=0&mobile=false&width=900&height=500&bga=true&needsRedirect=false 

National Parks Service: US governmental agency supporting work in US National Parks: http://www.nps.gov/aboutus/workwithus.htm

National Registry of Environmental Professionals: Job board: http://nrep.ehscareers.com/

Net Impact: Job listing: https://netimpact.org/careers/find-opportunities/job-board

Orion Grassroots.org: employment and internship listings: http://jobs.oriongrassroots.org/

Rodale Institute: Focusing primarily on employment in organic farming: http://rodaleinstitute.org/about-us/work-with-us/

Smart Brief on Sustainability: Job listing including US social policy and UN positions: https://jobs.smartbrief.com/board/UN_WIRE?sid=5e32ed3d-1c27-421f-beab-e0e23f037499

Society of Environmental Journalists:  Employment focused on journalists within the Environmental Sector: http://www.sejarchive.org/careers/index.htm

The Environmental Careers Organization:  Environmental Job Listings: http://www.eco.org/

The Job Seeker Environmental Job Service: employment listings: http://www.thejobseeker.net/

Work Cabin: environmental  job listings within Canada: http://www.workcabin.ca/

Social Service and Non Profit Employment

American Public Health Association: http://www.apha.org/about/careers/

Campus Compact: employment in the college community: http://www.compact.org/category/events-jobs-grants-more/jobs/

Council on Foundations: employment within philanthropy/foundations: http://jobs.cof.org/home/index.cfm?site_id=11690

Council on Philanthropy: employment within philanthropy/foundationshttp://philanthropy.com/jobCategory/index

Dotorgjobs.com:  employment listings within non profit networks: http://www.dotorgjobs.com/

Energize: employment listings within the volunteer management field: http://www.energizeinc.com/jobs.html

Free Management Library: Comprehensive compilation of search engines in the not for profit field: http://managementhelp.org/generalresources/jobs.htm

Idealist.org: Extensive job listings in all areas of social and environmental responsibility: http://www.idealist.org/

National Organizers Alliance: job board for those seeking organizing positions in areas such as community, specific populations, labor: http://www.noacentral.org/page.php?id=89

Non Profit Career Network:  employment listings: http://www.nonprofitcareer.com/

Non Profit Jobs Network: employment listings: http://www.nonprofitjobs.org/index.php

NPO.net: employment listings within the not for profit field: http://www.npo.net/

One World.net: job board  focused on poverty through out the world: http://oneworld.org/jobs

Opportunity Knocks: job board for the non profit field:  http://www.opportunityknocks.org/

Organizers for America: employment in organizing in communities, unions, and various specific constituencies: http://organizersforamerica.org/page.php?id=89&jobid=sj2

Philanthropy:  employment listings within the fundraising and development fields: http://www.philanthropynewsdigest.org/jobs

The Non Profit Times: job board focusing on non profits: http://www.thenonprofittimes.com/jobs/

Social Service. com: job board within the social services: https://www.socialservice.com/

USA Jobs:  employment listing including Federal jobs: https://www.usajobs.gov/StudentsAndGrads

 Human Rights and Development

Careers United: international development job board: http://www.internationaljobs.org/

Communication Initiative Network: extensive  international development job board: http://www.comminit.com/job_vacancies

DevEx: international aid and development job boardhttps://www.devex.com/en/jobs

Eldis: job board focusing on development, policy and research: http://www.eldis.org/go/jobs#.U3p24Zt16tQ

Ethical Performance:  job listings focusing on corporate and social responsibility. Primarily organized in the UK: http://ethicalperformance.com/recruitment

Geography Jobs: extensive job listing site focusing on geographers: http://www.geographyjobs.com/

International Jobs Center: job board for international employment: http://www.internationaljobs.org/

Midwest Academy: job board for community and social justice organizing: http://www.midwestacademy.com/involved/jobs-organizing/

Relief web: jobs in relief work around the world: http://reliefweb.int/jobs

Union Jobs.com: job board for Union employment: http://www.unionjobs.com/

Other Employment Sites

Black EOE Journal: http://www.blackeoejournal.com/job/search

LatCareers.com: job board for those seeking Spanish speaking positions within the US: http://www.latcareers.com/

Think Tanks: Listing of “Think Tanks” http://www.state.gov/m/fsi/tc/79982.htm

US Public Interest Research Group:  includes a job board and many entry level positions: http://jobs.uspirg.org/

 Volunteer and Stipend Programs

Americorps:  US National Service Program: http://www.nationalservice.gov/programs/americorps

Catholic Volunteer Network: domestic volunteer and lay mission programs: https://catholicvolunteernetwork.org/

City Year:  Americorps funded positions to work to support the US urban centers: http://www.cityyear.org/what-we-do

Corporation for National Service:  site for volunteering within the US including depts such as FEMA, Veterans and others: http://www.serve.gov/ 

Jesuit Volunteer Corps:  http://www.jesuitvolunteers.org/placement-sites/current-jv-placement-sites

Luthern Volunteer Corps: community support and development work within the US: http://www.lutheranvolunteercorps.org/template/index.cfm

Peace Corps: international development work, requires a 2 year committment: http://www.peacecorps.gov/

Volunteer Match: an on line service to link volunteers to much needed volunteer positions:  http://www.volunteermatch.org/